Thérèse Raquin

I have an imaginative writing essay to do for Monday that I finished today (at last!). I had to insert a self-written extract into this book: Thérèse Raquin, by Emile ZOLA. So I thought I might write a little book review.

Thérèse is an unhappy woman who has been forced to marry her cousin, Camille, a sickly man who repulses her. They move to Paris and live in a dingy little apartment with Mme Raquin, Camille’s mother. One day, Camille invites a colleague, Laurent, around. Thérèse and Laurent then become lovers and hatch a plan to kill Camille. But he comes back to haunt both of them. They see him everywhere and become paranoid…

You’ll have to read it to find out the rest!

Zola is a very important figure in French literature. I’ve read one of his other books (La faute de l’Abbé Mouret) and am planning on reading Germinal.
I recommend it, because it’s a classic and worth reading. It’s extremely well-written with all the descriptions etc… The two lovers are oppressed by the ghost, and that’s what comes across in his way of writing (you are oppressed too). In fact, it’s even slightly repulsive. I’m glad I read i but I wouldn’t read it again unless I had to.

~Bri'<

Image

Leave a Reply

