La chair…

La chair est triste, hélas! et j’ai lu tous les livres.
~ Stéphane Mallarmé

“The flesh is sad, alas! and I have read all the books.”

My French teacher today told us she hopes we never feel the need to say this sentence. I suppose I can understand why… If you feel that way, you’re probably pretty low. This quote is from Stéphane Mallarmé’s poem “Brise Marine” (or “Sea Breeze”). Where he expresses his longing, no, his need to get away, to find inspiration. He knows that, venturing far away, on a boat, on the sea, he might risk being shipwrecked and could never return home. But he wants to leave anyway, come what may.

I want to travel, but not because I’m sad and bored where I am now, but because I think that’s what I’m meant to do. But my home (wherever that may be…) and my roots will forever be a part of me.

~Bri'<

Leave a Reply

